Nostalgia

I remember that crucial day when I accompanied my father to the local supermarket where we bought our first television. I was excited. I knew there was something “huge” going on.

*
From the moment on the box stood in the corner of our living room, my “second socialization” (as I call it) begun. I became acquainted with a whole new world – a world principally constituted by Nickelodeon.

The series I watched definitely shaped my personality, in a good way (as I hope).
I was totally mad about The Ren & Stimpy Show, Hey Arnold!, Rocko’s Modern Life, Aaahh!!! Real Monsters and … of course … The Adventures of Pete & Pete.

Honestly, I think there was (and still is) no better series than the one about Pete and Pete, the two red haired Wrigley brothers.

The episodes were made with heart and mind, the stories were funny, intelligent, even poetic.

And sometimes I think back and smile, because I remember Endless Mike giving Older Pete precious dating advice (Time Tunnel) or Little Pete staying home from school with Lincoln stuck in his nose (Sick Day). I recall Older Pete’s disturbing field trip (Yellow Fever) or how Little Pete sold the house (35 Hours). Also unforgettable: the fat kid that’s hearing the ice man’s bell and runs so fast across the meadow that a butterfly sticks to his glasses (Splashdown!) …

Oh, that definitely is the sound of nostalgia!
Long live television!

Leave a comment